You are here

Back to top

7/17 - Ace Atkins and David Joy

Join us for a reading Wednesday, July 17th at 6:30pm at the East TN History Center with Ace Atkins (Shameless) and David Joy (The Line That Held Us).

About Ace Atkins and The Shameless

Buried secrets, dirty lies, and unbridled greed and ambition raise the stakes down South in the lauded crime series from New York Times bestselling author Ace Atkins.

Twenty years ago, Brandon Taylor was thought to be just another teen boy who ended his life too soon. That’s what almost everyone in Tibbehah County, Mississippi, said after his body and hunting rifle were found in the Big Woods. Now two New York-based reporters show up asking Sheriff Quinn Colson questions about the Taylor case. What happened to the evidence? Where are the missing files? Who really killed Brandon?

Quinn wants to help. After all, his wife Maggie was a close friend of Brandon Taylor. But Quinn was just a kid himself in 1997, and these days he’s got more on his plate than twenty-year-old suspicious death. He’s trying to shut down the criminal syndicate that’s had a stranglehold on Tibbehah for years, trafficking drugs, stolen goods, and young women through the MidSouth. Truck stop madam Fannie Hathcock runs most of that action, and has her eyes on taking over the whole show. And then there’s Senator Jimmy Vardaman, who’s cut out the old political establishment riding the Syndicate’s money and power–plus a hefty helping of racism and ignorance–straight to the governor’s office. If he manages to get elected, the Syndicate will be untouchable. Tibbehah will be lawless. 

Quinn’s been fighting evil and corruption since he was a kid, at home or as a U.S. Army Ranger in Afghanistan and Iraq. This time, evil may win out.

Ace Atkins is the New York Times bestselling author of the Quinn Colson novels, the first two of which, The Ranger and The Lost Ones, were nominated for the Edgar Award for Best Novel (he also has a third Edgar nomination for his short story, “Last Fair Deal Gone Down”). In addition, he is the author of several New York Times bestselling novels in the continuation of Robert B. Parker’s Spenser series. Before turning to fiction, he was a correspondent for the St. Petersburg Times, a crime reporter for the Tampa Tribune, and, in college, played defensive end for the undefeated Auburn University football team (for which he was featured on the cover of Sports Illustrated). He lives in Oxford, Mississippi.

About David Joy and The Line That Held Us

Darl Moody habitually skirts the law when it comes to poaching and the strictures of hunting season—it’s the only way he can guarantee there is food on his extended family’s table. One night, as he pursues an elusive buck through the backwoods of Coon Coward’s land, he takes aim at what he thinks is a wild boar. But his mistaken quarry proves to be another local, Carol Brewer, who has been illegally rooting through Coward’s valuable ginseng patch. When he realizes he has killed Brewer, Darl panics. He can’t call the police and report the accident, because no matter what punishment he might receive, Brewer’s pathologically deranged brother, Dwayne, would be sure to exact his own, much worse revenge. Darl desperately calls his lifelong best friend, Calvin Hooper, and together the two bury the dead man’s body. 

Wracked with guilt, Darl tries to put the incident behind him, but he was right about Dwayne. As the angry giant of a man begins to search for his brother, he finds clues that circle back to Darl and Calvin. In a tightly-knit world where everyone knows everyone’s business, and in fact most everyone is related by blood or marriage, there is no place to hide. As dark and violent events unfold, Darl and Calvin’s loyalty is put to the test, and their lives—and the life of Calvin’s girlfriend, Angie—hang in the balance. 

David Joy is the author of Where All Light Tends to Go, which debuted to great acclaim and was named an Edgar finalist for Best First Novel, and The Weight of This World. His stories and essays have most recently appeared in The New York Times Magazine, Garden & Gun, and The Bitter Southerner, and he is the author of the memoir Growing Gills: A Fly Fisherman's Journey. He lives in Jackson County, North Carolina.

Event Date: 
Wednesday, July 17, 2019 - 6:30pm
East TN History Center
601 S Gay St.
Knoxville, TN 37902
The Shameless (A Quinn Colson Novel #9) Cover Image
ISBN: 9780525539469
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - July 9th, 2019

The Line That Held Us Cover Image
ISBN: 9780425280287
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - July 9th, 2019